Blade width to thickness question

Hey I'm going to begin my 3rd knife as well as a new design. The design is a wider blade 1.5" where as my previous knives were about 1". My question is, do you think that 1/8" steel would be too thin for a blade with 1.5 inch width and a flat grind? The purpose of the knife is a small to medium general use survival type knife.

With that, and I know much is preference/purpose of knife, what would you say is a general rule(or your recommendation) for thickness of blade compared to length and/or width of blade, when doing a flat grind. Not talking kitchen or filet knives but outdoor/camping/hunting blades. Meaning, I'm sure you wouldn't want a flat grind on 1/8" steal if the bade width were 3" or say a 12" blade with 1/8" thickness, or maybe you would, I really don't know, I'm still a newb so wanted some thoughts.

Thanks

For what you are describing, in 1/8" thickness I would stick to a saber or scandi grind. For knives of similar proportion that I want to have a full flat grind, I usually step up to 5/32 or 3/16.

But there are no rules really.

1/8" is ok for that purpose,I prefer 5/32. If using 3/16 you need to distal taper the blade and taper the tang. YMMV.

Thanks for the replies, I was kind of thinking 1/8" might be a bit too thin, and I don't feel confident enough to do a saber grind. I have a bunch of 1/8" stock still so I think I'll go with a different design for now until I can save up for 5/32s or so. thanks again.