Brands to stay away from

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know this is a very broad question and will have alot to do with opinions but as a fairly new collector I'm always in fear of dropping alot on a bad brand. Just in general are there any big brands/ designers out there to just stay away from, Chinese made of course though. Im still learning about the big designs, Chris reeve, strider, darrel ralph etc, but since most of the names are unfamiliar I just don't want to spent $200-$400 on something that most people on here would never even consider because of a taboo or bad reputation. Not trying to start a big debate on who's the best and such, just wondering some names to avoid.

For reference the last few ive gotten were-
Benchmade Osborne
Microtech LUDT
Medford slim midi
Spyderco police

Strider really? See thats why I'm asking because I've been looking at strider and some of their collaborations and assumed they would be good.
Thank you!!

You should broaden your horizons and give WE and Reate a chance!

I was actually just reading up on WE knives and looking at some old threads where people were talking highly of them. Even with my little knowledge I still know the stigma of Chinese made, but seems like WE is building a good reputation.

Strider really? See thats why I'm asking because I've been looking at strider and some of their collaborations and assumed they would be good.
Thank you!!

Strider knives are an over priced and over hyped product by a felon named Micky Ray Burger who poses as a high speed low drag 'operator' that never did any of what he had claimed to do. His biggest hitch in any uniform was prison for 5 years, after which he re-invented himself as Mick Strider, special operations type bad boy.

Don't waste a single nickel on him.