Budget performance knives? BD1N, PSF27, Nitro-V?

What does everyone think of the various "budget steels" that are actually pretty decent performance wise?

I've only used Nitro-V once and had good results. I have yet to try the new HT. I have heard really great things about it.

I havent been able to find PSF27 to test yet, but someday I'd like to mess with it for some small hunters. I know it's just spray formed D2. But with good HT it can really shine and it's bot going to be super hard to grind like other "super steels."

As for BD1N I have no experience with it. I saw the preorder for the Para3. It has BD1N, and less than 100 bucks!!!! Supposed to be a fine grained stainless from what little I have heard.

What's everyone think.
Feel free to add other budget steels I missed

Do they offer 14C28N? I have really enjoyed that steel in use and sharpening! Should also be really cheap!

Of those, I only have BD1N and it is in a gyuto at a stated 63HRC. I really like it. Like so many steels, I think the letters only mean so much if the heat treating isn't done well enough to get the most out of the given steel.

@DeadboxHero is also very fond of the stuff and likes to lay the angles back.

Last edited:
What does everyone think of the various "budget steels" that are actually pretty decent performance wise?

I've only used Nitro-V once and had good results. I have yet to try the new HT. I have heard really great things about it.

I havent been able to find PSF27 to test yet, but someday I'd like to mess with it for some small hunters. I know it's just spray formed D2. But with good HT it can really shine and it's bot going to be super hard to grind like other "super steels."

As for BD1N I have no experience with it. I saw the preorder for the Para3. It has BD1N, and less than 100 bucks!!!! Supposed to be a fine grained stainless from what little I have heard.

What's everyone think.
Feel free to add other budget steels I missed