Building a shop

shinyedges

Unfaltering Love & Undeviating Will
Gold Member
Platinum Member
Hey fellas and ladies

I'm in the purchasing phase of making a small cnc shop to make knives. I'm a cnc programmer/machinist by trade and have that end of what I'll need covered. I am humbly asking for opinions on the other parts of this shop that I'll need. Every part of the knives will be made in my shop, heat treatment will likely start at Peters but will eventually be done in house.

Hit me with suggestions on what equipment you think would be best for my shop. Feel free to ask questions if you need specific information to better offer a suggestion. Thank you in advance.

Make the shop twice as big as you think you need ... maybe three times as big.

CNC will only go so far, so you will have to still do a lot of knifemaking work.

A good belt grinder, disc grinder, surface grinder, drill press, metal and wood cutting bandsaws, welder, etc. are pretty much essential in a full time shop. The list is much larger, but that is a start. HT can be sent out.

Really need more info on what your making, and the process of said making to know what you will need. you forging? stock removal? trying to do as much as possible via CNC?