Camp & hiking knife

Hey guys,
I am fairly new to BF and spend my time here browsing and reading from the archives, but now this forum has my curiosity peaked. I am seriously looking for my next camping knife and have narrowed the search down some, but I REALLY like the looks of some of the Becker Knives I have seen here. Where is the best place to browse and look at the different models? What knife would be the best to have in camp but not too long to carry? Any help is greatly appreciated!!

What is too long to carry? You have to answer that question yourself as we all have different tastes. I'll carry anything from a BK&T #7 to a 3 lb 26" long khukuri. :D

I would propose you might find the BK 7 about ideal. It's about the same size as a military KaBar knife with a 7" blade which I find very versatile. A step down in size would be the BK2 with a 5" blade.

My BK 7:
HPIM1013.jpg

Sounds like a BK-2 with a 5" blade will fit your bill. Not 'too big' and it can be clubbed through firewood to make kindling.

sound off for the BK 2!
it is all you will need until you get a BK 9!

www.gpknives.com has them nicely laid out with sheaths and everything (with the 7 and 9 at least)

I like the BK2 for camp, but for hiking, the BK7 would be lighter and would also do great camping. You cant loose either way tho.

Hey thanks for the information guys. I think the 5" will do for me ( its like you guys can read minds or something lol!). My next question: would I be better off to buy a BK-2 or a RAT RC-4? I currently EDC a OD green Izula and am pretty happy with it, but I want to get some outside opinions before I buy either. I just dont want to contract a case of buyers remorse. Any and all information is appreciated.