Cannot get a CTS-XHP Gunhammer sharp

I recently got my hands on a HTM Gunhammer with the torpedo CTS-XHP blade. I ran it through numerous passes with my Sharpmaker at the 40 degree setting, and finished up with the extra-fine rods. I still cannot get it sharp enough to push cut or make fine cuts without fraying material. I don't know what gives. Any ideas would be really helpful.

Did you work up a burr? I actually also found that the extra-fine only took me to working sharp, not shaving sharp. The ultra-fine rods proved more helpful with that.

Agreed with crimsonfalcon. I'm an Edge Pro guy myself, so whenever I've put a new edge on one of my Gunhammers, I just rebevel it anyway then work up through the stones of various grits to polishing tapes and then stropping. But if you're using something like a Sharpmaker, you'll need to make sure you're actually hitting the edge and working up a burr.

Assuming you are hitting the edge and so forth, I think the issue is just that you're trying to get the knife really sharp, to a greater degree than what just the fine rods on a Sharpmaker will typically allow. So I think crimsonfalcon is also right that you'll need a higher grit than the Sharpmaker's fine rods. Stropping also works wonders when trying to get (and touch up) that super refined edge that'll push cut notebook paper and do other cool stuff. So if you don't already have a good strop, definitely invest in one.

I think stropping is above my pay grade. I'll have to look into getting a strop and figuring out how to use it. Thanks for the suggestions!

Are you sure you are hitting the apex? If your Gunhammer is over 40 degrees inclusive, no amount of work on the 40 degree sharpmaker is going to do anything, just grind down the shoulders of the bevel.

I'm not quite sure what angle they're ground at from the factory...I haven't been able to find out.

I'm not quite sure what angle they're ground at from the factory...I haven't been able to find out.