Recommendation? Chaparral FRN or Dragonfly 2 FRN

CAD

I'm looking to purchase a small light weight Spyderco that I can drop in the front pocket. I have no experience with either model. Would you fine folks give me your options please?
Thanks in advance!!

Chris D.:D

I would have to say DF2. I haven't had a Chaparral yet but I love my DF2. Simply an awesome little blade. Great ergos for such a small knife and very utilitarian blade shape. Honestly, you'd probably be fine to go either way.

Reactions: CAD
Have the CF Chap and several DF2s -- I love both models. So you can't go wrong with either.

That being said, the slightly fuller grip, slicier grind, and steel give the Chap the edge in my book.

Both! Benjamin made good points above. You can get the DF2 in ZDP189 too though. For me, it comes down to size in the pocket and the DF2 is the winner there. I never carry it clipped and it's the only knife I regularly carry without using the clip.
IMG_3685.jpg

JTLWMdb.jpg

sounds like the df2 is what you're looking for.
love em both, but i think the df2 does almost everything the chap does, in a considerably smaller package.

I'm not sure the DF2 is really any smaller when it's closed than the Chap. It's certainly smaller overall when opened, but the handles are just about the same length, making them similar in size when closed. I'm not sure you can make a wrong choice here. I don't have the numbers up, but I'd bet the FRN DF2 is a little bit lighter, which might make a difference to you. Otherwise, get whatever you like more. Or get both and flip a coin in the morning.

I'm not sure the DF2 is really any smaller when it's closed than the Chap. It's certainly smaller overall when opened, but the handles are just about the same length, making them similar in size when closed.

Interesting...I need to check the sizes closed.

Chris D

The more I think about it, the more clear the answer becomes. Both. Get both. They both are awesome. Get both.