Cheap yet Well made Katana

Unbelievably!... On Ebay of all places.

I'm rather new to the sword collecting hobby. One thing i've found is that some of the older collectors can be a bit "Snobbish" in believing nothing but the finest Albion swords or genuine Tamahagane Katanas are worthy of discussion, let alone purchase.

A few weeks back i bought a Ronin Katana Dojo Pro series heavy Cutter. I'd been well informed by pretty much everybody that it was possibly the best functional Katana in it's price range before you start spending big money on serious pieces. I agree, it's a great sword at a very affordable price... But then i got to thinking, is it possible to find another sword that can match it in durability, edge retention and price?

I took off to Ebay and found literally dozens (if not hundreds) of Chinese made Katanas ranging in price, until i found something that caught my eye. It was one of those customize your sword deals that you are usually best avoiding, but this one was different. It boasted a clay tempered, differentially treated T10 high Carbon steel blade with a full Tang, genuine Ray Skin AND a genuine Hamon... Mostly what you would expect for a �300 sword like the RK Dojo Pro, But this sword was priced at half that at $149. I bought it just out of the intrigue and then instantly regretted my instinctual purchase... Until that is the day it arrived. As soon as i removed the sword from the Saya i knew it meant business. It was surprisingly sharp and Low and behold, their was a Hamon and it Was real... But more than that, the sword just "Felt" right. In fact, it felt just like the Dojo pro. It is big, beefy and chunky. I took it out back and proceeded to hack through all the targets i had left (thick plastitic water bottles mostly and a couple of tipple rolled tatami mates) and it cleanly dispatched of everything i threw at it.