Chef's Knife 8" vs 10"

TLA

Gold Member
I have a bunch of different chef's knives and I'm looking to upgrade to something better in quality than what I have. I was wondering what are the advantages of a 10" chef's knife vs the 8" other than a longer blade. I have been looking at the Ken Onoin Shun series but I can't decide between the two. I want a knife that is not a knuckle buster. I am open to any other suggestions on brands or even custom made knives. I'm not a professional chef, I just like really good knives. Any thoughts and information will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Tony

Most of the knife size is personal preference and available space but here is a quick video on size if cutting large amounts of food.

[video]http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zq37b1wG-yo[/video]

Personally I find the Ken Onion uncomfortable to use, but to suggest a knife has endless possibilities. Wa, western, carbon, stainless, belly, flat, price range.....the possibilities are endless. I recommend custom makers as long as you know what you are looking for. If going custom, pick one that has a good reputation for kitchen cutlery. Not all custom makers know how to make a kitchen knife. How about a little more information?

Avoid the Ken onion shun. Too expensive, and gimmicky handle. There IS a reason you never see working chefs use those.

Go for a plain gyuto. The 12" take a bit getting used to, but once you learn how to use it, you'll never go back. Fantastic for long pull cuts.

Tojiro and Fujiwara are both excellent western style Japanese knives. chefknivetogo has an excellent selection.

Three elements you might want to consider:
Long chef knives are more common amongst pros. Would you ever want to sell it, that will be much easier when it's a longer one.