Cleaning a clogged SiC stone

I have a dual-sided SiC bench stone (coarse/fine) that I have been using "dry" since I got it a few months ago. Not it seems clogged, especially in the middle. I have recently begun using honing oil while sharpening instead of using it dry, but I would like to clean it up to remove any embedded steel particles.

I do have a container of pure acetone, but I've heard kerosene is recommended for cleaning SiC stones.

Can I use acetone, or do I need to locate some kerosene?

Also, any tips or tricks would be appreciated if anyone has gone through this before.

Thanks! :)

Acetone won't hurt your stone, but it may not work as well as paint thinner or kerosene. If you have a good tough scrub brush or wire brush it would help. I would start with hot water, sink scouring cleanser and a scrub brush first.

Thank you Jeff. I will try that.

Regarding the acetone (or kerosene if I can find some) -- should I soak the stone overnight, or is scrubbing with a firm brush sufficient?

Thanks again.

I would not soak the stones. Soaking in the solvent will leave more residue in the hone than you really want. I don't like the smell of the solvents and you may cause the hone surface to break down faster than you want. Part of the function of honing with water or oil is to get the hone surface to break down a little quicker, but without the stone and metal debris clogging the surface of the hone. If you don't use enough fluid the surface tends to break down fast, but also clog fast. If you soak the hone you may get some of the same effect. Once you get oil or kerosene into the hone you are forced to keep using an equivalent fluid until you get back to clean unsoaked material.

In general I use the lightest, cleanest oil if I am working on an oil stone. You might try a little mineral oil mixed with a touch of kerosene or light machine oil. I have even used rubbing alcohol as a fluid on some oil stones.