Cold Steel Recon Tanto

Howdy! I am brand new to the thread and was wanting to know some opinions on the Recon Tanto. I love this blade and looking at purchasing it tomorrow. Any pros and cons I need to know about before I do so? Thanks & God Bless!

it's a fighting knife.

the tanto point is designed for a snap cut.

it's a little thicker at the point than a dagger which means the point is less likely to bend or break though it will take more force to penetrate in a stab than a dagger.

being a single edged blade, it can be used for cutting work but a normal shaped edge with a curved belly will perform better.

Maybe a little late....I have the San mai recon tanto. came razor sharp and its a beautiful knife. Only complaint is the handle could stand to be a little longer. Feels like it needs a half inch on the back, and I have pretty average size hands.

Ahh, yes... the Recon Tanto. Had one way back when I was in the Navy, when I used to haunt the mailbox waiting for the latest Cold Steel Special Projects catalog to show up.

Bought mine as a "Factory Second" for a good price. Do they still offer factory seconds?

The blade shape really didn't offer me much as far as general cutting chores. Got rid of it because I thought the SRK would be a better cutter. I do know that it could take a hell of a beating. The rubber handle was comfortable.

I couldn't tell you what kind of fighting knife it would be... I'm not a knife fighter.

Maybe a little late....I have the San mai recon tanto. came razor sharp and its a beautiful knife. Only complaint is the handle could stand to be a little longer. Feels like it needs a half inch on the back, and I have pretty average size hands.