Cold Steel, the best value leader in the knife business

as I was going through my knife drawer and cabinet today, I came to a realization, all my Spydercos and Benchmade's are gone and in its place I have stacks and stacks of cold steel knives.

I majored in accounting and always look for the best price to value ratio. Back in the 90s and early 2000, Spyderco was the innovator (still is) and value leader (not anymore) and I became a Spyderco fan. Had some very rare Spydies pass through my hands but I just don't see them as a good value anymore and have sold off my stock. Benchmade lacks in innovation (new models) was more premium priced and went to the side for me once I felt like I was buying the same knife over and over again.

Cold Steel on the other hand gets a lot of hate on the forums. I bought my first aus8 Tri-ad lock American Lawman and really liked the knife but hated the cheap paint. Fast forward to XHP being introduced and I've been picking up model after model mostly between $50 - $100. These knives are tough as nails, have good steel, innovative designs, toughest locking system and the best price to value ratio in the industry. Sure I can see how CS knives lack a little fineness but just look at what Spyderco is charging for XHP knives.

Anyways, what I'm trying to say is when I looked at my current stock I realized that my buying patterns have inattentionally made me into a cold steel collector.

Keep up the good work CS.

Some good observations. Representing those of us with strict knife budgets.

A few CS in xhp are very good. You can keep the rest of the mall ninja stuff and the other crazy crap.

The folders are a very good value in XHP I end up carrying them more than most others. Some of the fixed blades are among my favorites as well, some of the other stuff is just cheap fun to mess with.

I find myself carrying Cold Steel knives with xhp blades much of the time these days. Strong work knives and light enough for fine all around edc.