cool SAK story

So, I was sent via dispatch to a robbery type case that involved a stabbing (i'm a cop). We located the suspect in his apartment, but he had locked himself in his bathroom. The bathroom door lock was one of those kind you commonly see on rooms inside houses, with the single pinhole in which you insert a long metal nail or thin rod and simply push to unlock from the outside.

Without getting into legal details, let it suffice to say there was no warrant and we could not justify kicking the door in or causing any damage to the house.

Well, the toothpick from my Vic Fieldmaster which was hanging on my belt did the trick. Door was opened and the suspect, who was in the bathtub, was taken into custody.

Now my partners are saying they are going to start carrying a SAK.:D

He surrendered in fear, seeing the pointy toothpick threatening him! :D

Seriously, good use of a simple tool. I agree a SAK is at least as useful as a big folder for ordinary situations.

A little known fact is the SAK toothpick was initially designed for picking locks (it was actually called the skeleton key for the first 3 or 4 years in their catalog). After a few years, they figured they could expand their market share by calling it a toothpick. True story. ;)

A little known fact is the SAK toothpick was initially designed for picking locks (it was actually called the skeleton key for the first 3 or 4 years in their catalog). After a few years, they figured they could expand their market share by calling it a toothpick. True story. ;)

Although I never thought to use the toothpick, there was a time my Swisschamp bp pen was used as a lock pick far more than for writing.
Could you direct us to the source of your info about the SAK toothpick?

Also the toothpick or tweezers can open police handcuffs.

I'm not going to tell you how I know, so don't ask!

Also the toothpick or tweezers can open police handcuffs.

I'm not going to tell you how I know, so don't ask!