couple questions about drilling a handle

hey all, i'm finally getting a break at work and have begun my project to rehandle my old carbon steel tramontina bowie. Going along pretty well with what ive read here and at various websites, but i have an issue i just cant seem to figure out. im shaping the brass guard and prepping the blade
The Info:
The blade has a 4 7/8" long tang (originally hidden tang, it had a 2 piece plastic clam shell type riveted scales:thumbdn:)
The tang is 7/8" wide originally had 3 rivets

The Questions:
Whats the best way to drill the handle? Since the tang is so wide and flat?
Unfortunately i dont have a drill press.
Do i drill it and then open it up with files or small saw, any tricks?
Should i shorten the tang? (easier to drill the opening)
also aesthetically how many pin/rivets should i use, 1, 2, or 3

hope this makes sense
as always thanks
ivan

I am far from an expert in this area but my hunch is to avoid shortening the tang if possible as that is the strength of the knife. Since the original had a two-piece handle, can you use a two-piece handle to avoid the drilling problem? I would be inclined to use all 3 pin locations for maximum strength and tightest fit.

i want to avoid it if possible (shortening the tang) but there are plenty of short/half tang knives and with proper construction should be plenty strong under normal use.
i may end up trying a rabbet tang, 2 piece its a little more complicated i think but may be the way to go.
I asked about the pins because i didnt know what the general rule was on pins and handle size, from an aesthetic standpoint. I have 3 corby rivets and the proper step drill, etc. So im good as long as nobody tells me 4 or 8, or 100 :D
Thanks for the info
cheers
ivan
ps if this doesnt work out i could sculpt it outta playdoh:D

I am not as experienced as some of the real professional craftsmen who hang out here but I have an old Tramontina Carbon Steel Bowie that I rehandled a couple of years ago.