CQC7 Emerson/Benchmade

Yet one more question... My CQC7 Benchmade/Emerson Ti blade... I understand that they are out of production, bt what exactly does this mean? I'm a newbie in the knife world, and don't know exactly what I've got here... any feedback would be appreciated!

------------------
Justyn

Emerson had a collaboration with Benchmade but this is no longer. Emerson is now making his own version of the CQC7.

Framar Knives, a dealer in the UK still had some of the old Benchmade models, brand new, in stock a month ago. They can be reached on tel; 044 01254 264486 if anyone is intrested

i believe the question in hand here is BT what is it. it stands for black Ti in some cases its people just call it titanium nitride. i believe this will help you a bit with your question .

------------------
Mark-@-MJS
mjsknives.com
knifeman@mjsknives.com
1-800-434-5073
good as the best and better then the rest.

BT and BT2 is a Black Teflon based polymer. It offers corrosion protection and it helps makes the knife operate smoother. It is not Titanium Nitride.

Frank

[This message has been edited by Frank Ruff (edited 28 September 1999).]

Thanks for the info guys, but my knife has a Ttanium BLADE. It's not just Ti coated.

------------------
Justyn

Justin, the Benchmade titanium CQC-7 was an affordable low/no magnetic signature knife. It was made for those who would be working in areas where a magnetic signature could create problems i.e. bomb disposal. I am not sure I understand the rest of your question. If you are asking waht bt is, then that has been answered. If you are asking why a titanium blade would be coated with black t, I would think it would be for making the blade harder to see, glare reduction or for the lubricating properties of black t.