CRKT BladeLOCK™ (Michael Walker)

I am a novice when it comes to knives. I was a bit overwhelmed by the number of knives and their diferences. I need a good durable knife that holds an edge well and is easily opened with one hand. I liked how easy CRKT BladeLOCK™ (Michael Walker) opened but wanted to get the group's opinion of what they would recommend.

Thanks for your help.

Adam Kirwan
aokirwan@yahoo.com

Greetings, Adam. Welcome to the forums!

The CRKT Bladelock is a fairly new knife. It is interesting that you found it easy to close, because some forumites have reported problems either opening it, or at least remembering to push down on the thumb stud. Perhaps because you don't have a lot of muscle memory locked into more standard thumbstuds it wasn't so hard for you to learn.

One problem has been reported about the Bladelock -- that they leak oil/lubricant out of the thumbstud/area. Apparently a few trips to the dry cleaners was necessitated by such leakage.

CRKT has the reputation of a company that gives about as much "bang for the buck" with their knives as any. Many of their knives are collaborations with custom makers, and they are CNC made in Taiwan. The two biggest knocks against their knives are that they tend to use a relatively low grade steel in AUS6 in many of their knives. The other is that virtually all of their knives are liner locks. Many folks here are pretty negative about liner locks due the greater potential that they will fail than say a lockback, or frame lock, or the Axis lock from Benchmade or the Rolling lock from REKAT. Yet, liner lock sales continue to dominate the market, and I've yet to read of an amputated finger from one.