D3V - Keep It Coated?

gk4ever2

Gold Member
I received my first CPK recently, a Behemoth Chopper, and I'm really impressed with the quality – the fit & finish is excellent, and it is very sharp! :cool:

Since I have no prior experience with D3V, should I keep it coated with something to prevent rust, and if so, what do you folks use? Inside a house where temperature and humidity are fairly well controlled, would rust be a concern on uncoated/unprotected D3V? Thank you for your replies!

Gene

I can only speak for myself and my immediate environment in San Diego County, CA:

I don’t live by the beach, but I’m not too far from the beach. Case in point, where I live does not get impacted by climate and weather conditions such as marine layers and beach environment humidity. With all that said, I don’t coat my D3V CPKs and even worse, i sheath them inside their leather sheaths which is a big no-no to many hardcore knife folks! My place is not always climate controlled as I do open windows and such. FWIW, my CPKs are inside a larger desk drawer so no humidor or anything like that. I have yet to notice any spot of surface rust on any CPK but in the same breath, I must also say that I own folders in M4 and K390 which display no rust either.

Take all of the above with a big grain of salt because I wouldn’t do anything which I described above if I lived in a high humidity environment.

I also wanted to add:

I would and really should apply a very thin layer of mineral oil to my CPKs in D3V which so far I have had no need for where I am and how I store them.

I had bought CPKs in the past that were never used but they were second hand (I was not the original owner) I can’t recall which and from where, but upon inspection after removing the scales, I did notice some minor surface rust spots underneath the scales (easily removed).