Damascus supplier for a clever?

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by probe3, Jan 16, 2021.

1. probe3

probe3

Jul 13, 2015
    Greetings fine folks. I'm a hobbyist knifemaker (stock removal) and I'm desperately looking for a supplier that sells 4" wide Damascus. I want to make a clever/veggie chopper out of 1084/15n20 but I'll suffice with 1095/15n20 or similar. Really having a hard time finding billets and bars wider than 2".

Thank you.

2. Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith

Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith ilmarinen - MODERATOR Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Aug 20, 2004
    I would go with Alabama damascus for a project like that. They have it up to 6" wide. Give them a call.

SBuzek likes this.
  3. SBuzek

SBuzek KnifeMaker Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Dec 7, 2006
    This

4. Cushing H.

Cushing H. Gold Member Gold Member

Jun 3, 2019
    I just made one... and worked with WEO to get the billet. If you look back in the “what’s going on in your shop” thread you will find a photo of the final product

5. weo

weo KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Sep 21, 2014
    Thanks for the mention, Cush.
    I was going to post that I'm starting to do more of this and plan on putting up some billets on the for sale section soon. Go start a conversation if you want.

6. Cushing H.

Jun 3, 2019
    You are welcome. I was not sure if you had the bandwidth ..... it is good to hear that you do!!

7. weo

weo KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Sep 21, 2014
    bandwidth??

8. Cushing H.

Jun 3, 2019