1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

damasteel HT w/o cryo

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by HSC ///, Aug 10, 2018.

1. HSC ///

HSC /// KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Nov 7, 2012
    Am thinking about trying out a Damasteel, I do not have any cryo or dry ice setup or any experience with it.

My quick research indicates that the RWL version doesn't require cryo - see below from the Damasteel guidelines -

"Deep freezing is not necessary but completes the martensite transformation and increases hardness. Hold for approx. one and a half hour"

anyone have any experience with hardening Damasteel? and without cryo?

regards
    Harbeer

2. samuraistuart

samuraistuart KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Dec 21, 2006
    Hey there Harbeer, I have no Damasteel experience, but if their own guidelines say "completes the martensite transformation and increases hardness", I would at least use the dry ice. Stainless steels have a martensite finish temperature well below 0°F, and that's why sub zero (dry ice) or cryo (LN2) is used.

3. Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith

Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith ilmarinen - MODERATOR Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Aug 20, 2004
    As far as I know RWL and Damasteel both need dry-ice bath at a minimum, and cryo if you have it. The dry ice bath is merely a metal pan with a gallon of methanol/denatured alcohol (hardware store) and around 3 to 5 pounds of dry ice chunks. The alcohol can be reused for a long time. The Dry Ice is cheap and can be bought at many larger grocery stores as well as other places.

You need a programmable HT oven that can do 1950-2000F, stainless HT foil, and a set of quench plates to do any stainless steel blade. A dry ice bath is also needed for almost all stainless steels.