damasteel HT w/o cryo

Am thinking about trying out a Damasteel, I do not have any cryo or dry ice setup or any experience with it.

My quick research indicates that the RWL version doesn't require cryo - see below from the Damasteel guidelines -

"Deep freezing is not necessary but completes the martensite transformation and increases hardness. Hold for approx. one and a half hour"

anyone have any experience with hardening Damasteel? and without cryo?

regards
Harbeer

Hey there Harbeer, I have no Damasteel experience, but if their own guidelines say "completes the martensite transformation and increases hardness", I would at least use the dry ice. Stainless steels have a martensite finish temperature well below 0°F, and that's why sub zero (dry ice) or cryo (LN2) is used.

As far as I know RWL and Damasteel both need dry-ice bath at a minimum, and cryo if you have it. The dry ice bath is merely a metal pan with a gallon of methanol/denatured alcohol (hardware store) and around 3 to 5 pounds of dry ice chunks. The alcohol can be reused for a long time. The Dry Ice is cheap and can be bought at many larger grocery stores as well as other places.

You need a programmable HT oven that can do 1950-2000F, stainless HT foil, and a set of quench plates to do any stainless steel blade. A dry ice bath is also needed for almost all stainless steels.

You can't achieve an optimal heat treat without a sub-zero quench.

If you are stubborn enough to try it anyway, heat treat at the lower end of the aus range, probably 1925’f and put it in the freezer as fast as possible. (After the quench)

Hoss

You can't achieve an optimal heat treat without a sub-zero quench.

If you are stubborn enough to try it anyway, heat treat at the lower end of the aus range, probably 1925’f and put it in the freezer as fast as possible. (After the quench)

Hoss
I'm not at all that stubborn :)