Did some whittlin.

Bawanna

Finally took a few days and whittled out a set of grips for my Kahr K9. Made quite a few but haven't for quite some time, frankly they are pretty tough to fit.
Digging through what's left of my meager wood supply I came across some Myrtlewood which I have never worked with before.
I was pleasantly surprised, it's plenty hard and dense and nice to work with. Not to toot my own horn but I think this set is one of the best fitting I've lucked out to yet.

Going back and forth, it feels great smooth, but I'm tempted to checker. Can't decide, maybe we need to start a poll.

I've always leaned towards contrast/flashy. Many prefer blend which in some cases works great.
I started checkering a while ago so I'll post a followup when I get that all scratched on.

I'll bet if you polished it up those grips would look like ivory. Might be too late, though, if you've already started checkering.

After checkering I think you could still give it a good polish if you use a grinder with a buffing wheel.

Looks very nice to me! would look great checkered but im with David. Id polish it up and oil it first just to see what comes out of it if anything? Kinda looks Osage but not as orange. Have you ever worked with Desert ironwood? I think its also called Ipe but not sure. I have a 1x6 about six or seven feet long. Next time I mess with it ill send you some. That stuff is the densest wood ive ever seen next to purple heart. This piece is pretty old so might even be harder? I was going to make a bow from it but the grain direction just aint right.

I cut my teeth on Ipe or Ironwood. It is hard stuff for sure. You don't want to get a sliver of that stuff in ya, instant pain and agony, get it out NOW.
I made a lot of Beretta grips for officers at the time and a few others. It's kind of pretty too.