DIY kydex/leather tutorial - the noob way

Hey everyone,

New member here. I posted this on another forum last summer and though maybe some of the DIY'ers might get some use out of it here.

I've really gotten into making sheaths the last summer so I thought I'd make a tutorial of how I have been doing it.

Disclaimer - Like I said, I am a total rookie. There are probably far better ways of making this sheath and doing leather work. If you have tips please let us know!

IMG-20110801-00042.jpg
IMG-20110801-00044.jpg

Tools I used:
-Dremel - sanding cylinder, cutting wheel, buffing wheel
-Heat gun
-Drill - 1/4 and 7/32 bits
-Homemade kydex press
-Box cutter or xacto blade
-Vise grips
-Eyelet setter from knifekits. Don't get the cheapest hand setter. It sucks. Get the one thats around 20 bucks.
-Spring clips for paper
-Dusk mask and safety glasses
-Light work gloves
-Time

Materials:
-Blue masking tape
-Kydex (I used .93 for the liner and .125 for the carry attachments)
-Veg tan leather - I used scraps from Tandy Leather. I think it's about 4oz? Not positive but the kydex makes up the structure of the sheath so the leather can be pretty thin.
-Nail polish remover
-Eyelets. I have the ones meant for .125 kydex from knifekits.com
-Leather dye - I used Fiebings Spirit dye (I didn't use the Pro Oil version. I didn't realize it was better until after I had purchased it but it seemed to work just fine.
-Chicago screws or post screws
-Some sort of waterproofiing stuff - I used SnowGuard. It says it's made of a mixture of bees wax and such.

Step 1 - Kydex forming

-Sketch your sheath and use your drawing as a template to keep your vision fresh and to measure out the leather and kydex
IMG-20110730-00016.jpg