DOVO Straight Razor Ivory Micarta Handle Model 105

Anyone have this razor I think it looks great however spending $150 on a razor is alot. I found three reviews online and they were split regarding the sharpness out of the box and how well it performed but all raved on the looks. I don't want to spend alot of money on an average razor.

I have some experience with straights, I have shaved with them for about 4 or 5 years. I haven't used that particular Dovo but I have heard that the Micarta scales are a bit handle heavy. I have the DOVO brushed SS scales, and while it is a bit heavier than regular plastic scaled razors, it is well balanced. The DOVO Renaissance model is nice too.

Have you used straight before? How much experience do you have with them?

I have been using an old Henckels straight razor for about 3 months now and have just purchased an old Boker. The Boker is heavier than the Henchels and feels better in my hand having shaved with it only once I can't say which is better shave.

I was thinking about a new razor and saw the Dovo and fell in love with the looks of that razor and I was wondering if it performs as good as it looks. I don't know alot about razors but Dovo seems to have good reputation.

Dove and TI are the only reputable sr manufacturers left. The Paki and Chinese companies don't sell razors you can shave with. As long as you are familiar with honing and stropping, I say go for it and enjoy the razor!

Thanks
After reading some of my posts I appears I have already disided I just needed someone to give me a little push.

I'll tell you one thing: Rarely does a production (Dovo, TI) straight come "shave-ready" out of the box. It's a shame, but they really don't have good edges on them when you first buy them unless you get them pre-honed by someone who knows what they're doing.