etch go, bye bye

I just got some semi-chrome polish recently from Pop's. I've never used it before but, heard it was good stuff. It's good alright. I wiped the black right out of my blade etch(logo). :eek:
Is this normal? Sould I just drop this stuff?

I am new to etching so my statement may not carry very much merit.
I thought that the etching was the last thing you do to your blade :confused: :confused:

I agree, etching and sharpening are the last things I do to my knives but, I do prefer to clean the knives before putting them on the table. :D The semichrome polish is the cleaning (in the tube type) polish, just to avoid confusion.

How deep are your etches? Are you sure it's not just polish in the etch? Maybe try a toothbrush and see if it doesn't come out. I just clean mine with hot water and dish detergent.

If the etch is deep it doesnt matter about the black getting polished away. I dont like the black anyway. A good etch is .010" deep.

I read with interest your post about the trouble you
had with the etch .

the fact is, that I have yet to understand how to pull
off an etched temper line without just messing the
whole thing up with my buffer.

Here is what I do,,,(or what I do wrong atleast)

after the blade steel is done, and its all nice
looking, sanded with up to 2,000 grit sand paper (the last by
hand) at the end and then buffed like a mirror...I
clean it real good, then dump it into the etch.

I have no idea what strength the etch is,,,oh I know
that Ed Fowler said to make it 4 to 1,,,but the
trouble is at the time, I thought he ment for it to be
4 parts etch to one part water.

after I burned the crap out of my first knife, I cut
the etch with water for the next knife. Again after
ten min the knife blade was totally black, (too strong
again)

so I mixed up more water in a new glass jar. had it
about right to my eye, then today I dumped that jar
onto the floor (that room will be known as the "brown
floor room" from now on by the way),