Fallkniven A1

I'm new to BladeForums but so far it's been a wealth of information. I've been looking for a moderately priced, high quality survival knife. I think I've found it in the Fallkniven A1. However, I have two questions regarding this particular knife:

1) Aside from aesthetic preferences, what are the advantages/disadvantages of the black teflon coated blade vs. the uncoated blade? I assume that the teflon coated blade is much more resistant to corrosion, but how well does it hold up? Does it wear off or scratch easily in general use? Is it worth the extra corrosion protection that it may provide?

2) From reading the various postings regarding this knife, It appears that the blade was originally manufactured with a flat grind, however, Fallkniven has since started using a convex grind on these knives. Is this correct? If so, what are the advantages/disadvantages of the convex grind vs. the flat grind? Is the convex grind an improvement?

Any responses would be appreciated.

I have not used their coating but I would be very surprised if it stayed on during any kind of heavy use and the A1 is obviously a heavy use blade.

Convex edges allow thin edges to be well supported. This way you get strong cutting performance from the acute edge, but in case you hit something hard, you will not blow a big chunk out of the edge.

If the edge was flat ground at the same angle if you not be as well supported and you could take major damage on a hard hit. If you increased the flat grind angle to get the same support as with the convex edge then it would not cut nearly as well.

The main reason flat grinds are so common is concern about sharpening. Most rigs/systems are set up to only deal with flat grinds.

-Cliff

Originally posted by Vince:
1) Aside from aesthetic preferences, what are the advantages/disadvantages of the black teflon coated blade vs. the uncoated blade?

Is it worth the extra corrosion protection that it may provide?