Fighting Thrower

Hello. This is my first time to the throwing forum. Great reading and looks like another skill I'd like to develop. Can anyone suggest a good fighting knife that throws well or a good throwing knife that would work for close quarter combat. What I need is a good knife that would be used for defense. This means the handle must be more than a cord wrapped around the tang. However I like the idea of the knife being able to be thrown effectively. Is it possible to add handles to a thrower? Any suggestions of the characteristics of a thrower or specific knives that might fit my bill would be appreciated. Also, in reading one of the threads about balance, it seemed that one could "learn" to throw almost any knife. Is that true?

Thanks

I'm not familiar with western "standard" throwing style. In traditional Japanese way, I was taught practicing with a cheap ball point pen (very light) to stand into cardboard 6 feet away will enable throwing most knives. Make a tube by index, middle, ring finger and slide the pen (or knife) along them, shoot it to the target with only 90 degree turn. Don't throw, just shoot. This is what I was told. Because it's the easiest way to throw...

For "real" use, there would be advice from experts, but my comment will do you any harm if you try and find no use. Just try it for practice.

------------------
\(^o^)/ Mizutani Satoshi \(^o^)/

Thank you so much! Now I am sitting at my desk throwing pens at the walls instead of working. This feels really good. I feel like I could learn this with just about any knife.

Thanks Again!

Now try this.