Firesteel vs a Lighter...

Ok, I admit that I don't completely understand firesteel. I've never used a firesteel before, but I have used chips from magnesium-framed snowshoes for starting winter campfires (more for the novelty than anything else--sure, the magnesium burns nice and hot but it wasn't necessary at all.) I'd like to hear your opinions on firesteels. Is it more of a back-up/novelty thing or would you just rather carry a lighter/matches in your kit?

Please enlighten me! :)

It's great for a back-up. If your matches and lighter get soaked, that firesteel could save your bacon. It's not my primary means of starting a fire, but it's nice to have and not that bulky.

Alan

I use both. The lighter is easier and more convenient. The firesteel is there in case the lighter craps out.

A firsteel for it's size is well worth carrying than not in my opinion. It will light many more fires than a matches and a lighter. It will work when wet, and takes up little space.

That said, I carry a lighter as my primary and a firsteel as a back up.

I carry both, but I honestly prefer to use a fresteel. It seems to me that it is more enjoyable to start a fire when I use a firesteel. Not really sure why, as it doesn't need that much practice to get the fire going if you have good tinder. Plus, if you go for a dunk, the firesteel will work straight away.

For me, there is no debate at all. Ferrocerium rods work when everything else can fail. Everything else is a back-up to the ferro rods.

my PSK has both a lighter and firesteel. the lighter can get soaked and stop working or can break. You should lways have more than one way to make a fire.

I carry both, but I honestly prefer to use a fresteel. It seems to me that it is more enjoyable to start a fire when I use a firesteel. Not really sure why, as it doesn't need that much practice to get the fire going if you have good tinder. Plus, if you go for a dunk, the firesteel will work straight away.

++++++