First time normalizing 1095 was a catastrophe

OccamsBlade

Jim Dobbler
Like the title says, my first time normalizing didn't go so well. I've been making knives for a few years now on and off. I've mostly been using 01 and 1084. The first several knives I made with 1095 recently were problem free. However I started making bigger kitchen knives and wanted to try a few 7" kitchen knives (ground down to .02 - .03 on the edge). I figured I'd try to get the best out of my 1095 and did some research. What I found is that a lot of knifemakers suggest normalizing 1095 before hardening, even if you do stock removal. So I gave it a shot.

From the many hours of research I did on the subject I decided I'd do a normalization cycle in my Atlas forge at 1500, 1450, and 1400(x2). After putting all three of my blades through the first cycle at 1500 (trying to heat them evenly until there was no shadow) everything seemed fine. The only odd thing, that I've never had happen before, was when the knives cooled to black they would develop a bright red powdery substance on the surface. Like a fine rust but deeper red. So just wiped it off with my glove and went for the second cycle at 1450. After pulling those out I got the same red stuff, but also noticed some warping. Thinking about it now it could have been something I did. I maybe swung it around too much, or let it sit on a cold surface, or uneven heating, or all of the above.