Recommendation? Fixed blade 5-7 inch great slicer

MTHall720

Gold Member
Looking for production mid range FB which is fairly light and a really good slicer, with a good balance. . Would prefer the blade not be black Plain edge only. Not looking for a chopper or camp knife
Thanks very much.

Hollow grinds come to mind, like Buck's fixed blades.

When you mention 5-7 inches, do you mean blade length or overall length?

Great suggestions above. One that I've heard about but have yet to try (on my list) is the Carothers field knife. It's supposed to be a great slicer as it's thin behind the edge despite how thick the blade stock is. You may still get some friction on the primary bevels in things like cardboard, but I have no experience to confirm.

The buck 119 or their open season knife series comes to mind. The 119 is pretty light for the size as well.

I think the green river is what I would go with, regardless of price. I had a Sheffield Green River and it was one of the sliciest knives I've ever used after touching the stock edge up. It's low end and the steel isn't the best, but it's perfectly serviceable.

For clarification, what is "mid-range" for pricing? I can see that going many ways if you consider Busse as a high-end so $200 falls into mid-range and under $100 is low-range. I ask because there are a few custom knives or high-end ($200 for me) production (LT Wright specifically) that I've had that are pretty great slicers but the price is around or north of $200.

There is a full flat grind Buck 119 out there. For under $100. It’s a “build out”. Not regular production but readily available at the present time.

Price range? Not sure what your "mid range" price is. Linked to BHQ for easy reference of knife.

I own a BR Bravo 1.25 . Great knife! Several steel and handle options. Bottom end of your blade size at 5".
https://www.bladehq.com/item--Bark-River-Knives-Bravo-1-Fixed--72544

https://www.bladehq.com/item--Cold-Steel-3V-SRK-Search-Rescue--34576