Flip knife in canada

My brother is a photographer and he has a tiny less the 6inch pocket knife. Its un assisted and the blade is 3 inch. He uses it for "defence" and as a tool and hes really worryed about it. Thanks.

Welcome. In general most knives that size are fine. However if it can be opened by wrist action alone, or with a gentle push and a flick, it could cause trouble. Also, carry of a knife for self defense is illegal in Canada, as it constitutes carry of a dangerous weapon. Joys of Intent based laws. So advise him to just say its for cutting tape.

Please note that local laws may restrict what he should be doing further, also I'm not a lawyer, and I've never gotten in any trouble over a knife. So my advice is worth less than the time it took you to read it.

Yeah its a manual open and its a swiss army knife so i doubt it will cause trouble... But if it does ill tell him to say its for cutting leafs or to carry a "survival" kit

My brother is a photographer and he has a tiny less the 6inch pocket knife. Its un assisted and the blade is 3 inch. He uses it for "defence" and as a tool and hes really worryed about it. Thanks.
With a 3" blade the knife is perfectly legal. You are allowed up to a 5" blade if a folder and 4" blade if fixed in Canada. DO NOT say any knife is for defence!!! The law in Canada is a Federal law right across the country. If a province says you can't have that, don't believe it. If a police officer stops you for any reason and you say that the knife regardless size, is for protection, there is a big chance he will take it. It's always a tool first. Hope this eases things for him.