Forged In Fire

I love the show. I've seen every episode three times. It's even inspired me to buy a small propane forge, an anvil, and a table vise. I haven't been able to start yet, because I'm buying the stuff I need over a couple of months. I figure all I need now are tongs, an apron, a respirator, and another propane tank. I've injured my shoulder, so I can't do any forging anyway. Next month I'll buy the rest of the minimums and start if I'm able.

Anyway, I love the show. All of the contestants are pretty impressive people to me. Talk about a dedicated crew. They're all passionate to the point of religion, all of them. You always hear them saying things like, "I put a part of myself in every blade I make." I think I've heard just about everyone of them say it.
I'm a working artist myself. I appreciate skill and dedication. Real technique takes thousands of hours, I know. The blade-smiths on this show are skilled craftsmen and dedicated artists. I respect them.

I like the judges also. The first judge is always a master-smith and they really know what they're doing. The Baker fellow is a historical weapons expert and Hollywood blade-smith, and then they have a martial-artist. They're fair and tough. They don't pull punches and they give valuable feedback. (I feel at times they get a bit subjective. For example, they don't like long handles... Things like that)
The best are the weapons tests. It gives us the chance to see real historical weapons at work. I love, love, love, it.

They teach about knives and knife-making in the most entertaining way possible. I've learned so much about steels and Damascus and all kinds of stuff.

I know there's some criticism: All they test are weapons. They make knives look dangerous. Shows like that increase knife-law probability. They glorify knives as weapons, etc...