G10 vs. Micarta?

Hi all! :]

So I've been a knife nut for almost a year now, yaaay! :)

But right now I just feel like a total newbie. So I've never owned a knife with either G10 nor Micarta scales. I ordered a Buck 112 with G10 scales (brushed nickel bolsters + rivets, S30V blade). What do I expect and was that a good choice? I tried to Google it but I didn't find anything solid, mostly just opinions and facts that I didn't understand very well. What I'm hoping for is a smooth, black fiberglass like feel. Am I going to get that with g10?

Thanks guys!! Happy Saturday! :]

~ Sparkly

PS: Opinions are definitely welcome! ^_^ I just was a little confused by my findings so far.

Held one in store recently it's what you expect. I don't know what got mean by fiberglass, it's just tough dense plastic. Different texture really gives it different feels.
You gotta check out some spydercos g10.
Go to a knife store and then you will have lots of your own opinions ;)

Held one in store recently it's what you expect. I don't know what got mean by fiberglass, it's just tough dense plastic. Different texture really gives it different feels.
You gotta check out some spydercos g10.
Go to a knife store and then you will have lots of your own opinions ;)

Okay great, thank you! :) is it very heavy? I forgot to ask that in the original post.

I researched this exact question a little while ago. There are lots of opinions in a good number of threads here about this question. If I was to answer the G10 vs Micarta comparison question, my answer would be “Let the Search function be your guide.” The conclusion that I arrived at was that there is no list of overpowering, definitive things that makes one of them “hands down” preferable over the other. As a result, I prefer straight-up Ti knives. There’s no arguing or wildly differing opinions about the durability or damage resistance of them.

Reactions: BBW