General advise for a custom newbie?

I'm not a knife newbie. I've been collecting knives since I was 7 (for the last 25 years) and slowly graduated from flea-market crap, to Bucks to CRKT & Kershaw, to Benchmade and Spyderco, to Microtech and Protech, and NOW I'VE FINALLY given up the fight and I'm totally interested in customs. (Got my first today. A Dozier Agent.)

I've been checking out KnifeArt.com and BladeArt.com and a few other custom knife sites and the custom forums, but BASICALLY I now find myself in a world I know nothing about.

Previous to this I could spout TONS of info on all different factory knives: when they came out, what's discontinued, the order things came out and sometimes their evolutionary history, most of the versions and model numbers and materials, what was popular and what wasn't, production problems they've corrected along the way... blah, blah, blah!:eek:

Over the last week or so of reading about productions I've learned that I'm totally lost and I don't know JACK!

(Save for the big names like Elishewitz, Lum, Ryan, Carson and all the others that have done collaborations that, OF COURSE, I've heard of because I know all about and probably have owned their factory collaborations.)

My knee-jerk is to look for their customs, but of course they're often much more expensive than other names who's knives look at least as good...

I'm set with my knowledge and opinions of one maker: DOZIER! Fine! I'm good with that. Set in stone. No problem.

My second knife? My buddy TheBadGuy hooked me up with a nice-looking Duncan at an excellent price but I don't really know who he is other than people seem to like him from reading the forums and the knife looked really nice from TBG's pictures. I'm sure I'll like it and it'll be money well-spent because I know and trust TheBadGuy but...

after that?

SOMEBODY THROW ME SOME WATER WINGS!