Gravity Knife Case

CJ Buck

I received the following email:

I am referred to you by Ralph Mroz because I am an attorney defending a young man charged with possessing a gravity knife; a misdemeanor under New York Law. The knife is a "Fury16060" apparently imported from China by Joy Enterprises of Mangonia Park, Fla. Overall length =4" Tang to tip= 2 1/2" serated edge. The applicable statute in New York reads, " ' Gravity Knife' means any knife which has a blade which is released from the handle or sheath thereof by the force of gravity or the application of centrifugal force which, when released, is locked in place by means of a button, spring,lever or other device"

Is the "Fury16060" a "gravity knife"?
Thankyou for your help.

Frederick C. Meyer

Anyone out there have any experience with this knife. Gravity is such a subjective call by the officer and the DA. I do not know any other details about this case but would like to offer Mr. Meyer any case histories involving this knife or one just like it.

thanks

------------------
CJ Buck
Buck Knives, Inc.
AKTI Member #PR00003

Naturally, the NY statute lacks the thumb stud proviso that's now in the CA code section (thank you, Buck!), which creates a safe harbor for most of our one handers that we also flip open without touching the blade.

The Fury 16060, which an AltaVista search located at bodyjewelry.vabch.com/stores/knives/onehand.html , is a shameless PRC clone of the Spyderco Merlin, so we pee upon it from a great height.
redface.gif