Heat Treating Oven Newbie Questions - Learn Me Up!

Hey guys, as many of yall know from my last thread, I've recently build a HT oven. I've never used an oven before so I have some questions for you seasoned pros!

1. Do you: A.) get your oven to temp then insert your knife; or B.) put your knife into the oven from the start?
    • Does this answer change when HT-ing SS vs Carbon blades?
  2. Do you use SS foil for both SS and carbon blades?
  3. How many degrees over your target quenching temperature do you bring your blade up to in order to accommodate the door opening and air time to quench oil / plates?
  4. What temp do yall's SSRs run?
  5. How long do you let your oven soak @ target temps before inserting your knife?
Any other new oven user tips?
Cheers,
JKeeton

I start the oven and let it get to target temp, then equalize for 45 min. Then pop blade in. After the door is closed, the temp will first drop below target, then overshoot, then go below target temp with one or two celcius and then stabilize at target temp. This takes 5-10 min. Once stabilized at target temp I start the clock for soak time. 15-20 min for the stainless I use.

Everything S Scaniaman said and only use foil for SS so you aren't trying to cut a knife out of foil to quench it. I don't try to adjust for the door opening just put it at the target temp it won't take long to come back up. I probably only let it soak at temp before inserting knife for 15-30. Also I'm not a seasoned pro..