Heat Treating Seven Different Steels with a Forge and Magnet

Larrin

Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I tried my hand at heat treating with a forge. I used a range of different low alloy steels and measured each for hardness and toughness to see if I could successfully pull off good properties with little or no experience. I used the information gathered in my previous article/video about the best prior microstructure for forge heat treating.
Article: https://knifesteelnerds.com/2021/09/23/how-to-heat-treat-knife-steel-in-a-forge/
Video:

I have zero experience with heat treating. One of the things that always concerned me was the visible appearance of a temperature gradient in blades that have a primary bevel roughed in. It seems to me to be too easy to overheat the edge. In some cases, this can be preferred since the spine doesn't need to be as hard. I guess it is a balance between thickness behind the edge and spine thickness.

Thanks for the article. I could never get Pop's 8670 to harden right in my forge, but I'd bet now that I was overheating it. I could probably go straight into the parks 50 from non magnetic and be perfect.

Good stuff, I was looking forward to this report. What do you think, Larrin? Will you mess around with the forge more in the future? It's fun, and wild to observe decalescence in a blade, although it can be hard to perceive until you've seen it, and then it can't really be un-seen.