HELP! Need info on honing steels

Hello,
I cook for a living and just recently purchased a Shun Hiro 8" chefs knife. I've had it for a week. It performs BEAUTIFULLY but I know that soon it will need some honing to keep it performing. Its cutting core is made from SG2 steel. So I'm wondering what kind of honing steel is right for this knife without destroying my $300 investment? I currently have a diamond powder steel that I use on my old VG2 core knifes. Will this Steel do the trick? Or should i purchase the Steel that comes with the Hiro Line? Or does anyone have a suggestion on a cheaper Steel that will do the trick? Any info/suggestions would me MUCH appreciated.

Thanks,
Kmcgill419

Nice looking knife! Diamond rod steeling SG2 at 60-62Hrc requires long gentle smooth edge-leading stroke at exact bevel angle, if done correctly voi'la your edge is now toothy (partially ruin imo), else totally ruination. Seriously, I think it would be best if you let a pro sharpen it the first time, you can maintain the killer edge for a long while via strop on a charged 1micron diamond/cbn balsa + plain leather. Learn freehand sharpen skills, it's quite rewarding in many ways.

Maybe Moderator will move this thread to Maintenance, Tinkering & Embellishment, you'll get more answer there. heck - just lean back, to read many good sharpening threads in the Maint section. Also googling around, you'll find useful sharpening info covered Shun kitchen knives.

Last edited:
All that follows is my humble opinion:

A Shun with SG2 should only be sharpened using a stone of some kind. Whether that be with a guided system like the EdgePro or Wicked Edge....or by hand with stones....doesn't matter.

A honing rod is not a good idea with this steel...you will microchip the piss out of the edge and end up with a bread knife.

You can maintain the knife with a leather strop, although I'm not a big fan of that method either. It will work though.