How Best To Go About Getting A Light Chopper?

abbydaddy

Gold Member
I wasn't sure where was best to put this, it is kind of a question for Nathan, and kind of a Want To Buy. I mostly lurk here, so I am not really sure where best to put this question/post. Lorien, if I should just close this and post elsewhere please let me know.

So I have been lusting after a Light Chopper for quite a while. I am an archaeological grad student, but that doesn't pay bills very well, so I clear brush as a side job. I find carrying a machete to be too much most of the time, especially if I am doing other work, but my current belt knife (while quite handy, and not a terrible chopper) is not really a chopper, and I need to chop pretty regularly.

I was thrilled when I saw Nathan and Lorien developing the LC, because it really is a tool that fits my needs. But it was a bit spendy for me at the time. The deal I made with my wife was that when I submitted a paper for publication I would get myself an LC. Well I am close, but still have not submitted (getting feedback from professors can take a while).

However my Gerber machete finally cacked its kicks yesterday, and I need a new chopping tool for work. I have my backup machete, but it is my backup because I don't really like it. And I still really want something that I can carry on my belt without too much hassle.

So I am wondering how long it might be before there is another chance to buy a new LC, or is my best bet to go to the buy and sell thread? I really want one with either unbuffed micarta, or preferably terotuf, and I need a sheath for the knife.

What do you think my next move should be? Do I wait for the stars to align? Is there a sale I might manage to snag one at coming up? Or do I just start haunting the buy/sell thread?

There was a preorder which would have been pretty straight forward.

If you need something quick your best bet is the secondary market, make a post in the relevant sticky thread in this sub.

Good luck.