How do I bend aluminum without it fracturing?

Let me clarify:
The aluminum is the jaw-tips of my Lansky Clamp. I dremeled a groove in the knife-spine. Now the Clamp must grip into the groove by means of a "claw" shape. (Without this procedure, the clamp slips off too easily.)

I already tried bending the outer 1/16" around a nail. I just hammered it to shape while the nail was clamped in the jaws. But the aluminum fractured (cracked) at the outer corner of the bend.

Now, I ground all that off the Clamp, reground a handsome Clamp-edge, and am ready to start anew. So the question is: How do I bend the edge over, this time without weakening the bend?

My guess is just heat it; but I have little knowledge of heat-treating/tempering, or even if aluminum even acts like steel in that way. Must I get the aluminum red-hot for it to become "malleable". I know aluminum turns to white powder when heated to much. Assuming there was no fracturing, would the resulting "forged" bend be stronger or weaker?

Please ask me to clarify, if this whole description doesnt sound clear.

Heating it will soften the metal enough to bend it, Aluminium dosnt behave like steel so you wont be doing much if any damage.

Some Aluminium aloys can be "hardned" by heating but I dont suppose that would make any difference in your case any way.

uh oh, no way to know without knowing the exact alloy. aluminum alloys, forging, heat treatments, aging, all incredibly complex

If I were you I would focus on making a knew knife grip out of some aluminum and grinding in the little "tooth" on the edge that you want.

Like wnease said aluminum alloys are very complex if it crumbled then it was probably a cheap alloy because most alloys like 6061 which is very common tend to bend before breaking, although it sounds like you where bending it quite a bit.