How do I clean my Norton India stone?

I recently bought a Norton India stone for $2 at a garage sale! I have no experience with these stones. It still looks kind of new and in good shape. How do I clean this stone and how often should I clean it? Will a tooth brush and Ajax powder soap work? and is there any other things maintenance wise I need to do for a Norton India stone? Thanks guys your advice will be appreciated.:thumbup:

Moved to MT&E.

Ethan Becker just puts his India stones in the dishwasher. I have scrubbed mine with Comet or Ajax. Both ways work.

I got an older one that was loaded up and had been oiled with some real heavy oil, and was nasty.

I soaked it overnight in Simple Green, and it forevermore cleaned it up.

herb, that will work. I'd use a wire brush. Lacquer thinner works very good with the wire brush too. Yours being newer you shouldn't have much trouble. Use plenty of elbow grease. DM

Most of the guys here that love oil stones like the India say to use them with plenty of mineral oil while sharpening. This will keep the metal swarf from loading into the stone in the first place, which should keep it nice and clean.

Brian.

Also, if the stone gets worn, and you want to flatten it, sand paper flat on a glass pane works. It will also unplug a badly clogged stone (if some one has loaded it up and glazed it with steel).

I put the stone in a cake pan full of soapy water, making sure the stone is well covered. Then I put it in an oven at 300 degrees or so. Leave it for several hours but add water from time to time so the stone stays covered. I do this while my wife is out of town.