How do you sharpen your 4?

Hey folks. Since I picked up a 4 recently, I've been thinking about how to sharpen it. I have little experience sharpening recurves, but I can get my other knives shaving sharp with a stone and strop. The dramatic shape of the 4 looks like it would make my regular methods difficult. My first thought was to pick up a ceramic rod and give it a try. I'd like to hear your success stories for sharpening those big recurves!

I've seen CM_rick's video with dowels and emery cloth, but I wanted to hear other ideas as well.

Thanks!

Keep your eyes out, I've got a standard WorkSharp going up for sale ;). Ceramic rods, crock sticks (angled dowels covered with sandpaper), convex strops.....they all work. I use my Ken Onion WorkSharp. Though, TBH, I strop on leather with DMT paste. The WS makes it super easy to do the job. Homemade crock sticks are way cheaper....but even the WS standard has a LOT more uses and is a kick ass value IMO. Mostly, have some fun with that Machax!

Any skinny stone works. I've used the ceramic rods to good effect, and the homemade ones are kinda nice because you can make it the length of your sandpaper and get more work done faster. Strop it out on some black compound, and you're good to go. But, all things said; the belly is there to cut with force and mass, any old apex works just fine there. So I spend more time on the recurve portion.

I have a 1/2" round diamond rod from Lansky and a 1/4" round ceramic rod.

Diamond for rough work ceramic for touch ups.

I use lansky turnbox. Works ok. Takes a lot of patience. Like days worth of it....still makes it shaving sharp

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fine sandpaper around a Pringles can works for me. Richard J taught me this little trick.

I use my WorkSharp to put the edge on my beloved Machax, and a round sharpening steel (like you find in a kitchen knife set) to hone the edge when it needs it.