HT and tempering

Ok guys, I'm new to all this and am trying my hand at making a full tang viking style hatchet. I did not forge anything I just cut out a blank out of 01 precision ground toolsteel ( I had some laying around ). How would I go about tempering it? Do I just do the bit end? Do I do the tang also? Any kind of advice,comments,concerns.....need some advice on this. I'm just a toolmaker trying his hand at a new hobby. Thanks

blank out of 01 precision ground toolsteel

The very first step is to look up the Data-sheet for O1.

Unfortunately there you'll see that this alloy is a poor choice for beginning in HT.
It requires holding the T at which you'll be quenching for around 30 minutes,something that is best done with an HT oven.
(i presume that you don't own one).

However any of that may be your best(only)friend is the data-sheet pertaining to the alloy at hand;also practice gazing at and understanding TTT diagram(Time/Temperature/Transformation).

Both of these things are easily found on internet.

QUOTE="Redneckmetalman01, post: 19199644, member: 522766"]Do I just do the bit end? Do I do the tang also?[/QUOTE]

Tang is left annealed or annealed after/if hardened.

full tang viking style hatchet

I understand that "style" is something that is kinda in the eye of the beholder but still,"full tang" sounds more like TrueValue Hardware Style,or Hollywood style:)

Here're some basic viking-age styles:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Viking_art,and tool-wise i don't personally remember any full-tang anything...but i may've missed something...

And not that it really matters anyway...Great that you're trying your hand at hatchet making,best of luck with it,you're Guaranteed to learn lots and hopefully have a blast doing it!:)