Humidity, and storage of Randall Made knives

Hello-

I have been collecting knives since the 1970’s, and began collecting Randall’s in the 1980’s. As my collection has grown I have sought different ways to protect and store my knives. Renaissance Wax seems to work, most of the time.

My question, and the reason for this post, concerns humidity. I recently purchased a climate controlled cabinet to store my collection in. What is the best humidity range at which to store knives? This would include knives made of tool steel & stainless steel with micarta, stag, leather, wood, etc., handles. I have seen ranges from 30% to 50%. Thoughts?

Best regards,
Zzyzx Road

Last edited:
They recommend 40% to 60% for a gun safe. With 50% being ideal.

I am still working on it, and need to figure out how many more trays it will hold. For display purposes this isn't too bad though.

Attachments

• 58F90672-D37A-4AAA-A47A-27845426C697.jpeg
    58F90672-D37A-4AAA-A47A-27845426C697.jpeg
    118.9 KB · Views: 54
I should point out that your entire house is supposed to be around 50% for good health too.

True. It is much easier to control a cabinet to an exact temperature and humidity, though. Especially, where electronics and/or collectibles are concerned. These cabinets are actually designed for electronics, and are quite inexpensive. The one in the photo, 85L cost $110 shipped to my home, on sale. They go on sale about once a month. The 55L costs less, but is not deep enough for most Randall Made model 1’s.

https://www.adorama.com/sledc85hs.html

Last edited:
Super dry up here in NW Montana, which is purty darn sweet fro the most part, but hell on ivory handled knives, RMK's included. I no longer own any ivory handled knives...

Zzyzx Road Zzyzx Road I wasn’t arguing against the case. I think it’s a great idea.

Was just pointing out that the whole house should be monitored and conditioned too. You shouldn’t rely on the cabinets to do all the work. If it’s very humid.