I have a problem with sharpening one knife...

I have problem sharpening an older butcher-kitchen eicker solingen knife,have tried destressing the edge too,but it seems that blade somehow lost the temper or something.Even after taking the burr off the edge is barelly shaving and edge doesnt last at all.Knife was used my buself and also used,abused by others,also ground on beltsander-grinder before.Could it be that the temper is ruined,because these eicker solingen knives should take killer edge.I have been sharpening for 30 years and have no problem sharpening to hair shaving edge in no time.I used sil carbide norton stone on this knife.All input welcome.

Probably the heat generated by power sharpening took the temper out of the edge. Sharpen a bit of the spine near the tip to test the theory.

I think its the heat too,the edge just feels different,not crisp at all....just sharpened couple of wusthofs,love the way they take the edge along with mu victorinox knives.This eicker was used by my father in butcher plant for few years,and think it was sharpened there on power grinder,also used and abused in kitchen later,i reground it too some time ago,without paying attention on heat....

Might give it a chance, over another 2 or 3 (or 4) resets of the edge.

Since it's known the knife had been worked on grinders before, maybe badly, I'd also bet it's heat damaged. Might just have to keep taking bad steel off the edge, and hope it doesn't go too deep.

I've had some knives like that, which I swore were completely ruined. Even questioned whether one of them had been heat-treated at all. But eventually, after I'd reset/reprofiled the edge several times, the steel at the edge finally started looking stable and more 'normal' in terms of edge retention.