Is a 16.5" CAK to heavy for backpacking?

Hello, this is my first post on blade forums (or any forum). I've been reading and re-reading many many posts about himalayan imports products and I am sure that I want one, just having trouble narrowing it down. A little about me; I'm 5'7"-5'8" less then 150 lbs. I'm in pretty good shape but I don't want anything too heavy. My first and only khukuri is a large model from khukuri house that I absolutely love, but at 21" oal and 2 lbs 4 oz, it's just to big for to be practical for trecking. It's a great car camping/local chores knife, but I definately couldn't swing it all day clearing brush.

danzilla1

I am drawn to the CAK because of it's chopping power and apparent indestructibility, however due to the weight I'm thinking a WWII or even a 15" AK might be better suited for my needs. I'll be using it mostly for chopping related camp chores but I want a powerfull all-arounder.

Another draw to the CAK is that I am a broke student so the "buy both" solution is not an option here. I'll have to sell my "de-limber" to fund a slightly more practical blade, so having the toughest khukuri available as my only big blade is somewhat of a reassurance.

I know this topic has been disscussed many a time here on the forum, but I was hoping some experienced backpackers, or anyone that uses there khukuri's for extended periods could weigh in on the issue of wieght vs strength and other things to consider.

Thanks

What kind of backpacking are we talking about? If you're doing Appalachian trail style, long distance, high elevation backpacking, I would bring just a SAK or a Mora if you want a fixed blade. If you're blazing a trail I suppose a smaller khuk is a good tool but I know when Im out there Im counting ounces and thats a ridiculous tool. Try a Mora companion or SAK Trekker.