Is it possible to sharpen knives professionally only using bench stones?

Let’s say sharpening 20 kitchen knives a day was what you needed to make enough to pay the bills. And you went around to restaurants sharpening their beaters(not the expensive Japanese knives). Considering the amount of damage done to these knives (chips and broken tips) is it possible to reset the edge on these things in let’s say max 20 minutes per knife with just a coarse stone 60-120grit? I have no experience as to what condition cooks bring their knives to pros to get redone. Just looking for some insight into whether a no power equipment approach is even possible for these conditions.

When I practice with an 8inch chef knife I saw into the concrete with medium/hard pressure for 30 passes and then flatten the tip a bit to simulate a really dull knife. I can go from this to finished and push cutting in~45 minutes. I feel like I can’t get it faster than that and I’m questioning if crazy dull/chip to finished in under 30minutes is doable with stones

So with setup you can sharpen roughly one knife per hour this way. What does your income need to be to pay the bills and what do the other local knife grinders charge? If you need more money than the established folks charge you're going have problems.

5$ a knife to charge. Maybe need $1100a month to break even. I don’t think 1 knife an hour would cut it.

When I was a kid, in the German village I grew up in this was a profession ... guys on modified bicycles, going kitchen to kitchen for knives, but also door to door to sharpen scissors.

I understand they still exist in Mexico, Italy, etc.

ScherenschleiferinRom.jpg

1024px-Afilador%2C_Tossa_de_Mar%2C_2009-%2801%29.jpg

Besides showing cute pictures, I suggest you think about a portable motor grinder.