KA-BAR 1217 handle refurb

So. KA-BAR, thanks again to their sales department, have very kindly sent me a replacement pommel pin which will allow me to remove the current pommel, remove the leather handle and then conduct the refurb.
Question is, which side of rhe pin should be inserted into the pommel first?

Last edited:
It is indeed pointy side in, as found out after drilling it the old one out. The knife gods must have been smiling on me as even with a hand drill I managed to drill it out pretty much perfectly.

It wasn't too difficult to remove the handle once I'd got the pin out.

I then found a piece of leather, traced the outline of the front spacer and cut it out with my Spyderco UKPK.

Then I slid the handle back on, making sure it was all properly lined up.

Now, do I smash the pin in and smooth it out, or just epoxy it in and cut the remaining protruberance off?

I'd say epoxy plus a couple of good taps before the epoxy sets. I'm no expert but surely the historic way the pin was held in place was mechanical.

You did a good job on it. :thumbup: I've done this with one of mine as well. Use gorilla glue, it will expand when it dries. Use a liberal amount, then wipe excess off with a paper towel or rag after you push the pin in and give it a few taps with a hammer. I would recommend using a belt sander to get rid of the excess pin, then use 2000 grit wet/dry paper (automotive finishing paper) or a Metal Finishing Pad for a finish. You can find both of these at a large home improvement store. (Lowes, Menards, Car Stores ect.)
2000 grit wet/dry automotive finishing paper leaves a satin finish. Even better when used with a product called Flitz metal polish or happitch polishing paste. Either will work.
Metal Finishing Pads are six dollars at hardware stores such as menards or lowes and leave a basic flat metal finish. This might be easier for you. I restored one of my kabars this way.