Katzbalger : a strange sword ?

herisson

Apple slicing rocking chair dweller
I'm new to the world of swords but the Katzbalger for some reason caught my attention. While I understand it's a very effective close quarters weapon (intended for the last fights "one on one" when all tactics had failed), I just can't wrap my mind around the round tip. OK, it was flat and sharp, but why put away the stabbing power of a straight sword with a pointy tip ? My thought is that the elaborate plate armours of this period were more vulnerable to a flat broad point that would do a lot of cutting damage instead of a limited deep wound... On the other hand, the foot soldiers fighting hand to hand weren't that armoured... And half-swording to slash around body on body is not good with the Katzbalger because it has two fully sharpened edges... Still wondering and curious about the thoughts of the well informed. Thanks for reading this and for your answers !

wikipedia says

The katzbalger is a side-arm, often used by pikemen, archers, and crossbowmen as a last resort if the enemy were to draw too close for bows or pikes to be effective.

It's mostly a cutting sword. The rounded tip is not very suitable for thrusting, while the flat, broad blade is specialized for cutting. As with other similar cutting-centric arming swords, it can still be using for thrusting, though it's only likely to do damage to unarmored targets.

The large, characteristic guard helps to block and parry other cutting attacks. However, its openings leave the hands vulnerable to thrusting attacks.

I have always had the same question, why the blunt point. The Roman Gladius is about the same size and was known for its sharp point. It seems to me that they just eliminated another option (stabbing) for a sword that is to be used in close combat. I have seen photos of old Katzbalgers with more of a sharp point, so some of them apparently did have pointed ends. John