Recommendation? Kitchen knife advice

Hi, newbie here in the UK, appreciate some advice.

I'm a novice when it comes to all things knives. I was bought a Mac Pro chefs knife about 2 years ago. It's the only knife I own which isn't very cheap and nasty. I love it and have just about got to grips with sharpening it on a whetstone.

Now I can sharpen it myself, I've decided I'd quite like a couple of other decent knives for the kitchen so I don't just have the one chefs knife.

I'm keen on the idea of MAC Pro as I know I get on with my existing one and know I can sharpen it.

I have about £200 to get another 2 knives.

What 2 knives (either from the MAC Pro range or another range) would you reccomend to complement my existing one to give me 3 knives which cover most bases in the kitchen.

Thanks

I'm no expert, but I've used and given many high end kitchen knives/sets over the years. Shun Premier, MAC Pro, Whusthof, etc. I personally feel that MAC has the top performers for the most part.

Lately I've been trying to switch it up and give field knives as part of kitchen sets. Gave my brother a BM meatcrafter for his kitchen. He loves it and feels that it performs as well as all of the others, even in significantly higher price brackets.

My order of purchase for piece at a time sets is. 8" chef, 5" utility, boning, chopper, paring, 10" chef, bread, steaks.. YMMV.

Last edited:
Usually you can get by with a large chef knife and a paring knife. What else you might need depends on what you typically cook, and your preferred style of knife. Even within one category of knife, for instance: chef knives can be thin and delicate "lasers" or heavy European style ones, with blade shapes optimized for either draw cuts or rolling cuts.