Knife confiscated in club help!

Hi,
I’m a F18 UK Uni student. I recently went out to a club wearing a coat in which I carry my knife in (UK legal under 3 inches blade) However stupidly I forgot to take it out of this coat as i usually wear it when i need to walk alone at night & carry it to feel safer.
Anyway, as i approached to get searched I obviously let them know i had the item on me and specified why I carry it. Security took it off me and asked me to leave which I did.
Obviously I was quite annoyed they took this off me as it was a present from a family member however i’m more anxious about police being called on me/telling my Uni? What can they legally do if they just asked me to leave the premises & took my blade. Thanks x

I think you'll be better served to contact a solicitor for advice as they will be able to address specific UK laws and precedent.

I would be surprised if you suffered any legal consequences from this: you were searched by a bouncer at a club who seized your knife and told you to leave. It's not exactly a clear chain of control of evidence. Also, if it truly is legal to carry a knife with a blade shorter than 3 inches then you were doing nothing illegal.

Again, this does not constitute legal advice and you should contact a solicitor. I don't normally say this, but perhaps you should avoid carrying a knife for a while, especially if you believe you may enter a restricted area where you'll be subject to searches. It's a weird world these days and there's no need to bring unnecessary trouble at such a young age.

Hi,
I’m a F18 UK Uni student. I recently went out to a club wearing a coat in which I carry my knife in (UK legal under 3 inches blade) However stupidly I forgot to take it out of this coat as i usually wear it when i need to walk alone at night & carry it to feel safer.