Krav Maga

Anyone familiar with Krav Maga? I hear it's a good method. If so, I'm trying to find someone in the Birmingham, AL area for private lessons.

Thanks,
Shivster

Krav Maga is an excellent martial art. Although I'm no expert on its history, I believe it is an Israeli blended martial art that is taught to their police and military forces. I know a guy who used to train Krav Maga, and he was pretty good in a fight. It focuses mainly on elbows, knees, and other close up strikes. Since it's a military/police martial art, the philosophy of Krav Maga is basically that once a guy lines up across from you to fight, you need to maim/kill him as fast and effective as possible. There's not much a sporting aspect to Krav Maga.

I have only read about Krav Maga, so please correct me if anything of the stuff I write below are wrong.

There are three levels of KM.

1. The Civilian - pure self defense stuff.

2. The Police - more holds and takedowns.

3. The Military - taking out people (includes knifefighting).

The two first levels can be trained outside Israel, the third is restricted to IMF and allied forces.

What I have seen of KM looks simple and effective.

I hope you find what you are looking for.

/Colinz

I live near KM's National Training Center and one of my former FMA training partners directs their law enforcement program. A few months ago a friend who has an academy in Brussels flew in for some extensive training at the KM Center. I watched a number of classes. What really impressed me was that even in the intro classes, they taught some practical street techniques in every class. When students left a class, they felt that they had something they could actually use.

I was also impressed by the fact that KM did some conditioning work in each class and didn't swamp the students with too many techniques. The instructors picked a few things to work on and drilled them thoroughly.